Public Works

Services Provided
Looking for information on the University Hills street projects? Please visit the Current Initiatives page.

The Department of Public Works (DPW) provides a wide range of services to our residents in the City of Hyattsville and is made up of four operation divisions and one administrative division:
  • Street Maintenance Division
  • Solid Waste Division
  • Maintenance Operations Division
  • Park and Tree Maintenance Division
  • General Administration Section
Staff Members
Four DPW staff members are currently certified by both the Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA) and the Maryland Emergency Management Administration (MEMA) in disaster management operations. They are also a part of the City’s Emergency Response Team.